Skip to content

VC Deal Update

Dr. Benjamin<br>Ullrich Dr. Benjamin
Ullrich
Dr. Martin<br>Schaper Dr. Martin
Schaper
Dr. Frederik<br>Gärtner Dr. Frederik
Gärtner
Dr. Adrian<br>Haase Dr. Adrian
Haase
Matthias <br>Kresser Matthias
Kresser
Pia<br>Meven Pia
Meven

Berlin – Every single day the team works hard to help its clients achieve their strategic goals by providing comprehensive legal advice with specialization in the fields of Tax, Funds, Transactions, Corporate and Litigation. Over the last weeks, members of the YPOG team had the honor of being involved in a further wide range of startup funding rounds in the venture capital sector at SMP. To name just a few, recently VCs Planet A Ventures, Acton Capital, Senovo, APEX Ventures and Force Over Mass relied on the experts of the boutique law firm with offices in Berlin, Hamburg and Cologne. Based on a PitchBook analysis, in February the law firm was recognized as the most active venture capital law firm in the DACH region for the year 2020.


- Planet A invests in traceless


While working at SMP, members of the YPOG team advised impact investment company Planet A Ventures on its investment in the Hamburg-based circular bioeconomy startup traceless materials which was founded in late 2020. The team at traceless has developed a sustainable alternative for plastics and bioplastics that is fully compostable and can help solving the global plastic pollution problem. Alongside Planet A, the investors High-Tech Gründerfonds and b.value AG participated in this first financing round. The funding will be used to scale the company. More information can be found here.

Team:
Dr. Frederik Gärtner, Associated Partner | Dr. Martin Schaper, Partner | Pia Meven, Associate

- Acton invests in Metalshub

While working at SMP, members of the YPOG team advised late-stage venture capital firm Acton Capital on its investment in the Dusseldorf-based company Metalshub. The volume of the Series A funding was $11 million. Alongside Acton, Point Nine and Chromo participated in the round. Metalshub is one of the pioneers of digital transformation in the metals industry. The software startup was founded with the vision of connecting companies in the industry with a digital platform. Digital supply chains can help reduce costs and CO2 emissions. Metalshub plans to use the funding to expand their platform beyond Europe and aims at $1 billion in gross merchandise value by the end of 2021. More information can be found here.

Team:
Dr. Benjamin Ullrich, Partner | Dr. Adrian Haase, Senior Associate

- Senovo invests in HiveMQ

While working at SMP, members of the YPOG team advised early-stage VC Senovo on its investment in HiveMQ, a global leader of enterprise MQTT solutions. Alongside Senovo, the seed founding round was led by Earlybird Venture Capital with participation from business angels Ali Kutay, Mirko Novakovic, Daniel Schellhoss and Charles Songhurst. The financing will be used for R&D and significant growth of sales and marketing efforts. With HiveMQ, companies can connect millions of IoT devices to the cloud in a reliable, scalable and secure manner. Its customers include global brands such as BMW, Daimler, Deutsche Telekom, Liberty Global, Moen, Siemens and ZF. More information can be found here.

Team:
Dr. Benjamin Ullrich, Partner | Dr. Adrian Haase, Senior Associate

- APEX Ventures invests in sewts

While working at SMP, members of the YPOG team advised early-stage VC APEX Ventures on its investment in Munich-based robotics innovator sewts during its seed financing round. Alongside APEX, Bayern Kapital and High-Tech Gründerfonds as well as the existing investor Initiative for Industrial Innovators participated in this round. sewts was founded in 2019 and is a deep-tech startup that has the vision of a complete automation of the clothing production. Hence, the company is developing a software which combines capabilities in the fields of artificial intelligence, robotics and material simulation. The financing will be used to further develop the technology and enter the market of its first use case. More information can be found here.

Team:
Dr. Martin Schaper, Partner | Pia Meven, Associate

- Force Over Mass invests in apaleo

While working at SMP, members of the YPOG team advised London-based VC Force Over Mass on its investment in apaleo, a Munich-based hospitality tech cloud platform provider. Alongside Force Over Mass which acted as lead investor, Redalpine from Zurich and Bayern Kapital from Munich participated in the round. apaleo has developed an open API-driven cloud platform that revolutionises hospitality technology and property management. Despite the worst year the hospitality industry has ever seen, apaleo grew its client base significantly. With the financing the startup plans to foster investments in ist disruptive technology platform. Force Over Mass focuses on B2B technology innovation (Industry 4.0, Artificial Intelligence, Fintech) in Europe and the UK, and invests on Seed Series A & B stages. The VC invests in companies that combine transformational technology with strong business models.

The team is pleased to have provided legal advice to Force Over Mass for the first time in this transaction. More information can be found here.

Team:
Dr. Benjamin Ullrich, Partner | Matthias Kresser, Senior Associate | Daniela Machado, Senior Foreign Associate

About us

YPOG is a boutique law firm for tax and business law which is active in the core fields of Tax, Funds, Corporate, Litigation, Transactions, IP/IT and notarial services. The Team at YPOG represents a broad client base, which ranges from emerging technology companies and family-run SMEs to large corporations as well as private equity and venture capital funds. YPOG is one of the leading players for venture capital, private equity and fund structuring in Germany. The firm and its partners have been recognized nationally and internationally by JUVE, Best Lawyers, Legal 500, Focus and Chambers and Partners. Today, YPOG has more than 70 experienced lawyers and tax specialists and a notary, in three offices in Berlin, Hamburg and Cologne. More information about YPOG: www.ypog.law and www.linkedin.com/company/ypog.

Contact

Skip to content

Berlin – Mit großem Einsatz unterstützt das Team von YPOG Tag für Tag seine Mandanten bei der Erreichung ihrer strategischen Ziele. Ihnen bietet die Wirtschaftskanzlei umfassende Rechtsberatung mit Spezialisierung in den Bereichen Steuern, Fonds, Transaktionen, Gesellschaftsrecht und Prozessführung. Auch in den zurückliegenden Wochen waren Mitglieder des YPOG-Teams während seiner Tätigkeit bei SMP dabei erneut an einer weiteren Vielzahl von Startup-Finanzierungsrunden im Venture Capital-Sektor beteiligt. Unter anderem vertrauten zuletzt die VCs Planet A Ventures, Acton Capital, Senovo, APEX Ventures und Force Over Mass auf die Expert:innen der Boutique-Kanzlei mit Büros in Berlin, Hamburg und Köln. Erst im Februar war SMP auf Basis einer Analyse von PitchBook als die aktivste Venture Capital-Kanzlei in der DACH-Region im Kalenderjahr 2020 benannt worden.

 

- Planet A investiert in traceless


Mitglieder des YPOG-Teams haben während ihrer Tätigkeit bei SMP die Impact-Investmentgesellschaft Planet A Ventures bei ihrem Investment in das Ende 2020 gegründete Hamburger Circular Bioeconomy-Startup traceless materials beraten. Das Team von traceless hat eine nachhaltige Alternative für Kunststoffe und Biokunststoffe entwickelt, die vollständig kompostierbar ist und helfen kann, das globale Problem der Plastikverschmutzung zu lösen. Neben Planet A haben sich auch die Investoren High-Tech Gründerfonds und b.value AG an dieser ersten Finanzierungsrunde beteiligt. Die Finanzierung wird für die Skalierung des Unternehmens verwendet. Weitere Informationen finden sich hier.

Team: Dr. Frederik Gärtner, Associated Partner | Dr. Martin Schaper, Partner | Pia Meven, Associate

- Acton investiert in Metalshub

Ein YPOG-Team hat während seiner früheren Tätigkeit bei SMP den Spätphaseninvestor Acton Capital bei seinem Investment in das Düsseldorfer Unternehmen Metalshub beraten. Das Volumen der Serie-A-Finanzierung betrug $ 11 Millionen. Neben Acton beteiligten sich auch Point Nine und Chromo an der Runde. Metalshub ist einer der Pioniere der digitalen Transformation in der Metallindustrie. Das Software-Startup wurde mit der Vision gegründet, Unternehmen der Branche mit einer digitalen Plattform zu verbinden. Digitale Lieferketten können helfen, Kosten und CO2-Emissionen zu reduzieren. Metalshub plant, die Finanzierung zu nutzen, um seine Plattform über Europa hinaus zu erweitern und strebt bis Ende 2021 einen Bruttowarenwert von $ 1 Milliarde an. Weitere Informationen finden sich hier.

Team: Dr. Benjamin Ullrich, Partner | Dr. Adrian Haase, Senior Associate

- Senovo investiert in HiveMQ

Mitglieder des YPOG-Teams haben während ihrer Tätigkeit bei SMP den Frühphasen-VC Senovo bei der Investition in HiveMQ, einem weltweit führenden Anbieter von Enterprise MQTT-Lösungen, beraten. Neben Senovo wurde die Seed-Gründungsrunde von Earlybird Venture Capital angeführt, mit Beteiligung der Business Angels Ali Kutay, Mirko Novakovic, Daniel Schellhoss und Charles Songhurst. Die Finanzierung soll für Forschung und Entwicklung sowie für ein deutliches Wachstum der Vertriebs- und Marketingaktivitäten verwendet werden. Mit HiveMQ können Unternehmen Millionen von IoT-Geräten auf zuverlässige, skalierbare und sichere Weise mit der Cloud verbinden. Zu den Kunden gehören globale Player wie BMW, Daimler, Deutsche Telekom, Liberty Global, Moen, Siemens oder ZF. Weitere Informationen finden sich hier.

Team: Dr. Benjamin Ullrich, Partner | Dr. Adrian Haase, Senior Associate

- APEX Ventures investiert in sewts

Mitglieder des YPOG-Teams haben während ihrer Tätigkeit bei SMP den Frühphasen-VC APEX Ventures bei seinem Investment in den Münchner Robotik-Innovator sewts im Rahmen einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde beraten. Neben APEX beteiligten sich Bayern Kapital und High-Tech Gründerfonds sowie Bestandsinvestor Initiative for Industrial Innovators an der Runde. sewts wurde 2019 gegründet und ist ein Deep-Tech-Startup, das die Vision einer vollständigen Automatisierung der Bekleidungsproduktion hat. Dafür entwickelt das Unternehmen eine Software, die Fähigkeiten aus den Bereichen künstliche Intelligenz, Robotik und Materialsimulation vereint. Die Finanzierung dient der Weiterentwicklung der Technologie und dem Markteintritt des ersten Use Cases. Weitere Informationen finden sich hier.

Team: Dr. Martin Schaper, Partner | Pia Meven, Associate

- Force Over Mass investiert in apaleo

Mitglieder des YPOG-Teams haben während ihrer Tätigkeit bei SMP den Londoner VC Force Over Mass bei seinem Investment in apaleo, dem Münchner Anbieter einer Hospitality-Tech-Cloud-Plattform, beraten. Neben Force Over Mass als Lead-Investor beteiligten sich Redalpine aus Zürich und Bayern Kapital aus München an der Runde. apaleo hat eine offene, API-getriebene Cloud-Plattform entwickelt, die die Hospitality-Technologie und das Property Management revolutioniert. Trotz eines harten Jahres, das die Hospitality-Branche erlebt hat, konnte apaleo seinen Kundenstamm deutlich ausbauen. Mit der Finanzierung plant das Startup, Investitionen in seine disruptive Technologieplattform voranzutreiben. Force Over Mass fokussiert sich auf B2B-Technologie-Innovationen (Industrie 4.0, Künstliche Intelligenz, Fintech) in Europa und Großbritannien und investiert in Seed-, Series-A und B-Phasen. Der VC investiert in Unternehmen, die transformative Technologie mit starken Geschäftsmodellen kombinieren.

Das Team freut sich, Force Over Mass bei dieser Transaktion zum ersten Mal rechtlich beraten zu haben. Weitere Informationen finden sich hier.

Team: Dr. Benjamin Ullrich, Partner | Matthias Kresser, Senior Associate | Daniela Machado, Senior Foreign Associate

Über uns

YPOG ist eine Spezialkanzlei für Steuer- und Wirtschaftsrecht, die in den Kernbereichen Corporate, Fonds, Prozessführung, Steuern, Transaktionen, IP/IT und notarielle Dienstleistungen tätig ist. Das Team von YPOG berät eine breite Vielfalt an Mandanten. Dazu gehören aufstrebende Technologieunternehmen und familiengeführte mittelständische Unternehmen genauso wie Konzerne und Private Equity-/Venture Capital-Fonds. Die Kanzlei ist eine der führenden Adressen für Venture Capital, Private Equity und Fondsstrukturierung in Deutschland. Die Kanzlei und ihre Partner werden national und international von JUVE, Best Lawyers, Legal 500, Focus sowie Chambers and Partners geführt. Bei YPOG sind heute mehr als 70 erfahrene Rechtsanwält:innen, Steuerberater:innen, Tax Specialists sowie eine Notarin in drei Büros in Berlin, Hamburg und Köln tätig. Weitere Informationen: www.ypog.law sowie www.linkedin.com/company/ypog.

Ansprechpartner